Sunday, 15 December 2013

Velcro Wall

Slightly off topic, but have a look at this video!!  I laughed so hard!

Saturday, 19 October 2013

Review of the Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe


1 Ideal Protein Banana Pudding Packet
1 Ideal Protein Chocolate Pudding Packet
2 egg whites
1 tbsp non-fat milk
2 tsp olive oil
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Pam spray


  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl
  3. Spray a mini loaf pan with Pam
  4. Bake for about 15 minutes


I was a bit leery about this recipe.  I'm not a huge banana fan, but I do like banana bread.  I was happily surprised.  The loaf looked beautiful (I wish I had taken a picture before it deflated!).  What I really liked about this loaf was that neither the banana or chocolate flavours were overpowering.  They worked well together, without one or the other taking over.

The loaf was moist on the inside (could have probably baked it a few more minutes).  The portion size was nice.  It really felt like I was having a piece of banana bread!  It would have been nice to have chocolate chips or walnuts in it, but other than that, it was great!

LittleStar's Rating:

Review of the Ideal Protein Rotini


I prepared the Ideal Protein Plain Rotini per the instructions - 10 minutes in boiling water.

The idea of having pasta while on a low card diet is amazing, as is the taste of the rotini.  I find it very similar to whole wheat pasta.  The portion size is not huge, but enough to be satisfying.

I've had the rotini with sauce made with peppers, mushrooms, fire-roasted tomatoes (like the picture shows).  I've also added ground beef, pieces of chicken, or meatballs.  I often make two packets and save half for the next day.  It reheats beautifully in the microwave.  I've also had the pasta cold, with some Walden Farms salad dressing, and veggies such as cucumber, peppers, celery.

I love the rotini, it's versatility, it's taste, and it's texture.  Highly recommended!

LittleStar's Rating:

Review of the Crackers


Crackers Recipe


1 Ideal Protein Crispy Cereal Mix
1/4 tsp garlic powder
pinch dry chives
1/4 tsp sea salt
Pam spray
1 pinch baking soda
1/4 tsp sage powder
1.5 oz water
1 tsp olive oil


  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl
  3. Line a pyrex with aluminum foil and spray with Pam
  4. Pour mixture and bake in the oven for 15 minutes
  5. Take out, cut in pieces and flip
  6. Back in the oven for 5 minutes
  7. Take the crackers out.  Let cool


I read in another recipe for crackers to make them really thin, by folding the aluminum foil in half, and using a rolling pin to spread out the mixture.  It worked great, and made the crackers very even in thickness.  When they first came out of the over, they were still quite soggy and hard to cut into pieces.  The extra 5 minutes (I left them in about 8 minutes) really made the difference in making them crispy.

Crackers are wonderful when they are crispy and can be dipped in soup and not get soggy.  These crackers really meet the mark!  The first bite had that nice crunch!  They were thin enough to allow the crispiness, but thick enough to be satisfying.  I like the garlicky flavour, but would probably add even more garlic next time.  Dipped in the golden goddess soup ( made for an extremely satisfying meal.  I loved the quantity of crackers, and they were sturdy enough to be dipped into the coup.

LittleStar's Rating:


Saturday, 12 October 2013

Review of the Key Lime Tarts

Key Lime Tarts Recipe


5 packets of True Lime Flavoring
1 Ideal Protein Vanilla Pudding
1 Ideal Protein Maple Oatmeal
3 Egg Whites
Non-stick Spray


  1. For the Filling: In 3 oz of water, drop one teaspoon of True Lime flavoring, add Splenda to taste: should be sweet but tart. Add Vanilla pudding, mix until smooth. Cover and refrigerate.
  2. For the Crust: Preheat oven to 350 degrees, Mix Maple Oatmeal, one egg white and 1 1/2 oz of water. Stir until a stiff but manageable dough forms.
  3. For Meringue: Beat two egg whites until stiff peaks form
  4. Lightly coat muffin tin with non-stick spray, moisten hands and with 2-3 teaspoon of dough, roll into balls.
  5. Place one dough ball into each baking cup. Press ball down and make as thin as possible to cover tin and form a cup.
  6. Bake for around 5 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.
  7. Take key lime filling out of refrigerator and stir one packet of True Lime flavoring.
  8. Place filling into crusts and top with small dollop of meringue and enjoy!


This beautiful pie was going to satisfy the cravings of a homemade pie on a holiday weekend.

I didn't have true lime flavouring, so used lime juice instead.  Also added a drop of green food colouring, to really get the visual effect of the lime filling.  I didn't have the small tart shells, so I used one bigger one, and as a result, had to cook the crust for a bit longer.  I also added some Stevia to the meringue, since I tasted it before putting it on, and it really needed a bit of sweetness.

With this recipe, I was able to create a stunning pie!  It was beautiful, the meringue was a beautiful golden brown (put into the oven on broil for a few minutes), and the pie came out of the tart shell very easily.

With my first bite came the disappointment.  The pie looked and smelled so beautiful.  But the taste was not beautiful!  The maple from the oatmeal, mixed with the lime and vanilla from the filling, to the meringue taste, did not go well together at all!  The maple oatmeal was really overpowering.  The lime taste did not come through as I would have liked.  The pudding was a bit thicker than regular pudding consistency, but still wasn't the right texture for pie filling.  The meringue was ok, but didn't really add much to the whole thing.

I ended up not eating much of the crust, still at the pudding and the meringue, but was truly disappointed.  Not going to make this one again.  Definitely not worth a restricted and a non-restricted package.

LittleStar's Rating:

Thursday, 10 October 2013

Review of the Homemade Mayonnaise and Crab Cakes Recipes

Homemade Mayonnaise and Crab Cakes Recipe

Mayonnaise Ingredients

1 large egg white
1/2 tsp egg yolk
2 tbsp. light olive oil Not EVOO
2 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp yellow mustard
1/8 tsp sea salt

Mayonnaise Directions

  1. Use the flat blade blender of your Magic Bullet
  2. Add egg white, yolk, 1 tbsp of oil, lemon juice, mustard, and salt
  3. Pulse quickly for 4-5 short pulses.  You will start to see it whiten and come together, then pulse for 10 seconds.  Wait a few seconds and pulse again for 10 seconds.
  4. Add your last tbsp of oil and repeat #3, pulsing only for 10 seconds at a time, until thick and creamy.

Crab Cake Ingredients

1 can white lump crab meat
1 tbsp homemade mayonnaise
1/2 packet Ideal Protein potato puree
Old Bay seasoning
1 tsp Gourmet Garlic from tube
1 tsp Gourmet Chili Pepper from tube
1 tsp dried shallots
1 Tbsp roasted red peppers, dices
chives, parsley, salt, pepper

Mayonnaise Directions

  1. Drain crab meat and add seasonings, mayonnaise, potato puree and mix gently
  2. Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat and spray with olive oil
  3. Divide your misture into 4 equal patties, don't smush them down
  4. sear in the pan until browned, turn over and sear the other side


The mayonnaise is challenging!  The first time I tried it, it was very runny.  Not mayonnaise texture at all.  I tried again, using only the egg yolk (since this seemed more common in other recipes).  It was thicker, but not like store bought mayonnaise.  The taste was good though!  I've also seen in other recipes that the egg needs to be at room temperature, which mine was not.  This is definitely a recipe to keep working on, since it would be great with other meals, like hard boiled eggs, with fluffy potato rolls, etc.  I will keep trying!

I made a few modifications to the crab cake recipe.  I had fresh crab (not imitation), so I was able to use that.  I did not have some of the spices, herbs or roasted red peppers, so I used basil, paprika, garlic salt, pepper and sea salt.

The crab cakes were amazing!!!!  So tender and moist (and mayonnaisy) on the inside, yet crispy on the outside.  The flavours really came together in these four big crab cakes.  Very generous serving.  I used 6 oz of crab meat, but could have used less for a very satisfying meal.  I laid them over spinach, which nicely wilted some leaves while leaving some crispy.

This meal was very delicious, despite using most of my protein, oil, and 1/2 packet for the day.  I am still very full, a couple of hours later.  A smaller portion would have been fine, and that's probably what I will do next time.  And I'm definitely making sure I have roasted red peppers when I make them again, since I think that would be a great flavour combination.

LittleStar's Rating:


 Crab Cakes 

Review of the Fluffy Potato Rolls


Fluffy Potato Rolls Recipe



1 Ideal Protein Potato Puree
2 egg whites
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Spray
1 pinch  sage
1 pinch garlic powder
1 pinch sea salt
1 pinch thyme
1 pinch chives


  1. Preheat oven to 400F
  2. Beat egg whites until foamy, but not stiff
  3. Add in Ideal Protein Potato Puree packet, herbs, sea salt, baking powder, and baking soda.  Mix well.
  4. Spray cupcake pan with Pam
  5. Spoon batter into cupcake pan, filling up each hole about 1/2 to 3/4 full
  6. Spray top of each roll with 'I Can't Believe It's Not Butter' (optional)
  7. Bake for 9-10 minutes, until golden brown with bread consistency.
  8. Serve and enjoy.  Makes 3-4 rolls


Bread!!  Yummy!  These look amazing on the pictures, and I was really looking forward to dipping them into the Golden Goddess Soup ( that I had made.

When I made these, the only deviation from the recipe was the I Can't Believe It's Not Butter.  I didn't have any, but still wanted to golden brown top.  So I sprayed the tops with a bit of Pam.

These rolls smelled, looked, and felt like the real thing.  When I broke one open, the garlic, chives and thyme smell was wonderful.  They looked fluffy on the inside, crusty on the outside.

The roll tasted really good!  They were a bit dry, so I wouldn't recommend them completely on their own.  But dipped in soup, they were wonderful.  I could also see them being great for sliders, with roasted vegetables, with sliced steak and mushrooms, and so many other combinations.  They are a great alternative to bread.  I also really like that I got 4 good sized buns, or could have made 3 larger ones.

I will definitely be making these again, perhaps trying different herbs for some variation.

LittleStar's Rating:

Sunday, 6 October 2013

Review of Ideal Protein Reese's Pieces

Ideal Protein Reese's Pieces are made by combining Chocolate Soy Puffs and Peanut Soy Puffs. 

How did that commercial go?  Someone got chocolate in my peanut butter!  Someone got peanut butter in my chocolate!   Well, this is the Ideal Protein version.  I love the soy puffs because they are crunchy and sweet, and don't have a protein aftertaste.  But I LOVE this combination!  Reese's had it right, chocolate and peanut butter is the perfect mix. And the best part is that I get to have it two days in a row, since I mix the two packages together, and keep half for the next day. 

 LittleStar's Rating: 

Review of the Double Chocolate Brownie

Review of the Double Chocolate Brownie

Ideal Protein has a new restricted item - double chocolate brownie.  How can a brownie be delicious without all the sugar and fat that is usually in such an item?

I microwaved the brownie for 10 seconds. I then drizzled Walden Farms Pancake Syrup of half the brownie.  On the other half, I put a few spoonfuls of Walden Farms Strawberry Spread. 

I truly enjoyed the entire brownie.  I quite liked the combination of strawberry and chocolate flavour. I also really liked the pancake syrup on the brownie.  The brownie was moist, tasty and very chocolatey!  I think the 10 seconds of microwaving really helped make it more tasty.   I also think it would be great plain, or with some little extras from Walden Farms. 

Fantastic with a cup of coffee or tea!

 LittleStar's Rating: 

Saturday, 5 October 2013

Review of the Potato Pancakes Recipe


Potato Pancakes Recipe


1 Ideal Protein Potato Puree
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
1 pinch white pepper
1 pinch thyme
1 pinch oregano
1/4 tsp. sea salt
Pam spray


  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a shaker (let sit for 3 mins)
  2. Heat pan and spray with Pam
  3. Pour batter into pan (making pancake shaped portions)
  4. Cook until you can flip them
  5. Serve and enjoy.  Makes 3-4 pancakes


I am always amazed at the creative recipes for the different package of Ideal Protein food.  When I saw the picture with this recipe, I knew I had to try it.  The potato pancakes look amazing!

First thing to mention is, do not use the ball in the shaker!!  What was I thinking...  so letting sit for 3 minutes was actually trying to get the dough out of the ball.  Once I got it out, it was quite thick, and not something that I could pour into the pan, per the instructions.  So I formed into ball with my finger and flattened into the pan.  Quite messy, and a bit frustrating since I felt like I was wasting some of it (I like eating every last crumb!).

Once in the pan, they did fry up nicely, a lovely brown colour on the outside.  First bite, delicious!  These are really good!  I may have overcooked a little bit, afraid that the middle would not be cooked.  I added a few drops of hot sauce, and dipped in Walden Farms Ketchup.  Fabulous!!

LittleStar's Rating:

Review of the Ideal Protein Waffles

Ideal Protein Waffle Recipe


  • Ideal Protein Pudding Packet (I used Milk Chocolate Pudding)
  • 2 egg whites
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 2 oz (1/4 cup) water



  • Pre-heat waffle iron
  • Beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt
  • Add all the other ingredients except the water and mix
  • Add the water, a little bit at a time.  The batter should not be runny - fairly thick
  • Spoon approximately 1/4 cup of the batter on each side of the waffle iron.
  • Cook for 3-5 minutes, depending on your iron


What a wonderful idea - waffles!  I've had pancakes, french toast, now I get to try waffles.

I used the milk chocolate pudding mix for this recipe.  I was careful with the first two waffles not to put too much batter, since the recipe indicated that they expand quite a bit.  When I opened the waffle iron once they were done, I realized my mistake - not spraying the waffle iron with Pam.  They were a bit hard to get off, and definitely not big enough to make a full waffle.  I sprayed the waffle iron for the next batch, and made the waffle much thicker (making only one waffle instead of two).  This made it much easier to remove the waffle.  I drizzled with Walden Farms syrup.

The first two waffles were nice and crunchy on the outside, but lacked any insides!  They were somewhat airy and not the soft yet firm insides of regular waffles.  The flavour, however, was nice.  The second waffle looked like it was quite dark, almost burnt, but not quite.  So I definitely would not have wanted to cook it any longer.  However, as I cut into it, it became apparent that it was not cooked enough in the middle.  I was hoping that the thicker waffle would have a firm inside, but it was definitely undercooked.

So I had two waffles that were too thin and crunchy, and one that was thicker, but undercooked on the inside.

Overall, the waffles are a nice idea, but I think I'll stick to the pancakes made from the Ideal Protein Crispy Cereal ( from now on!!

LittleStar's Rating:

Thursday, 3 October 2013

Review of the Pumpkin Spice Zucchini Muffins

Pumpkin Spice Zucchini Muffin Recipe

For this review, I made two types of muffins.  The first batch was made using the Ideal Protein vanilla pudding package, and the second batch was made using the Ideal Protein butterscotch pudding package.  I also added 3/4 tsp of pumpkin spice.

Other than those changes, I used the recipe I have previously reviewed:


The smell coming from the oven was heavenly!  The smell of pumpkin spices mixed with butterscotch and vanilla was getting me really excited to try these muffin.  When I pulled them out, I was surprised at how similar they looked.  I expected the butterscotch muffin to be much darker than the vanilla ones, but they looked very similar, a beautiful golden brown.

The first bite I took was of the Pumpkin Spice Butterscotch Zucchini Muffin.  It was unbelievable.  The mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, and other pumpkin spices jumped out at me, followed by the butterscotch flavour that was really highlighted by the spices.

My second bite was disappointing.  The Pumpkin Spice Vanilla Zucchini Muffin did not taste good.  The vanilla combined with the pumpkin spices gave the muffins an odd taste, and did nothing to highlight the lovely flavour of the vanilla pudding.  I could also really taste the zucchini, which was not pleasant in the company of the other flavours.

I continued to eat both muffins, and definitely confirmed my first bites.  The butterscotch was the right combination with the pumpkin spices and the zucchini.

Both recipes yielded two large muffins (could have easily made 3 smaller ones) and the muffins were moist.  This seems to be the case with this recipe regardless of the type of Ideal Protein pudding packet that is used.

LittleStar's Rating:

Pumpkin Spice Butterscotch Zucchini Muffin 

Pumpkin Spice Vanilla Zucchini Muffin

Sunday, 29 September 2013

Review of the Exploding Spiced Orange Mug Cake

Exploding Spiced Orange Mug Cake Recipe


  • Ideal Protein Orange Drink
  • 50 ml water (about 1/5 cup)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp sweetener
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of cinnamon, cardamom, cloves or pumpkin spice mix

Pumpkin Spice Mix Recipe

  •  1/3 cup ground cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground allspice


  • Put the drink mix in a big mug
  • Add the water (it should be a slightly watery pudding consistency, just enough to be able to mix easily
  • Beat the egg white until stiff
  • Add all the other ingredients to the mug and mix
  • Put in the microwave on top of a big plate
  • Microwave for approximately 2 minutes


I didn't have any pumpkin spice on hand, but really wanted to try this recipe.  I googled and quickly found a few version of pumpkin spice mix, and made the above mix (in about 1/4 of the quantity).

Having read about the explosions and mess that these mug cakes can create, I approached this recipe a bit cautiously.  I also didn't have a really big mug that I could use, so I decided to split the recipe into two, one half going into a regular sized mug, and one into a glass bowl.  I also read that it is helpful to microwave at 70% instead of full power, and open the door once or twice when the mixture looked like it was about to overflow.  Following those tips, I was able to make this recipe without any mess!

The two cakes looked moist, and the smell was divine.  It really smelled like a pumpkin pie was in the oven on Thanskgiving!  The cakes came out quite easily from the mug/bowl, although they were a bit crumbly.

My first bite was everything that I expected and more.  I loved the orange flavour mixed in with the spicyness of the cinnamon/ginger/nutmeg.  The texture was nice, moist but still crumbly.  The warm cake was satisying on a cool fall day.  The size was a nice treat, getting two little cakes for just one IP package.

However, I waited a bit to eat the second cake.  It was not warm anymore, and became quite dry.  It was very crumbly and I needed water to wash it all down.  I added a bit of Walden Farms Pancake Syrup, and this really helped.

I may try to be brave next time and cook it all at once.  And definetely to be eaten while still warm.

LittleStar's Rating:


Saturday, 28 September 2013

Review of the Tortilla Recipe

Tortilla Recipe

  • Mix IP potato purée and 3 1/2 oz (7 Tbsp) of warm water
  • Make 2 tortillas by spreading the mixture into 2 thin circles (about 6-8" diameter) on a hot griddle sprayed with Pam
  • Let them brown on both sides, flipping once
  • Stuff the tortilla 


Imagine a fabulous Mexican meal.  Whether it is a tacos, fajitas, or burritos, the wonderful contents are always wrapped in a tortilla shell.  There are many variations on the tortilla shell, whether it be soft or hard, corn or wheat, with spices or flavouring.  Well, even on IP, you can have a tortilla shell!

I was having thick chili for dinner, so I thought a tortilla shell would be great to have with it.

The recipe is extremely easy.  Just add water to the potato purée, spray a frying pan, flip once, and you're done.

The taste was fabulous.  At first, I thought it looked too much like a pancake and wasn't sure what it would taste sweet, somehow.  But it was a great vessel for my fabulous chili, and it would be great for as a taco or fajita shell.  I loved that I got to have two tortillas out of one packet.  It was thick enough to hold up to my chili.  I might experiment with a bit more water so that I can have a slightly bigger tortilla.  Not sure how thin it would be possible to go before it would not hold up, but I will try and let you know.

Overall, very tasty and very adaptable to a number of meals!

LittleStar's Rating:

Sunday, 25 August 2013

Review of the French Toast Recipe

French Toast Recipe



1 Ideal Protein Omelet Mix
5 oz cold water
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp. Walden Farms caramel syrup
Pam spray


  1. Preheat the oven to 400F
  2. Mix all the ingredients but the caramel syrup in a bowl or in your shaker
  3. Spray a medium sized Pyrex
  4. Pour the mix into the Pyrex and bake for 10 minutes
  5. Serve with WF caramel syrup and enjoy!


I was a bit skeptical about this recipe.  I love French toast with fresh French bread with a nice crust.  So how can you make French bread without bread?

The recipe was easy to prepare and came out of the oven smelling good.  I let it cool a little bit (maybe 3-4 minutes), then cut it into 4 pieces.  The pieces were quite thin.  I drizzled with Walden Farms pancake syrup (didn't have any caramel syrup), and a bit of extra cinnamon.

I was pleasantly surprised when I took my first bite.  The cinnamon and syrup really made it taste more like French toast than an omelet!  It was moist and tasty.  I wish it had been thicker, so I may use a smaller pan in the future, to make it smaller but thicker.

By the time I got to the fourth piece, I wasn't quite enjoying it as much.  It felt like a really big portion, and by the end, was a bit soggy.  It started tasting more like omelet by the end.  I think my mistake was letting it cool for a few minutes, rather than eating it immediately out of the oven.

Overall, not a bad substitute for French toast.

LittleStar's Rating:

Friday, 23 August 2013

My Daily Breakfast

My daily breakfast is made up of two items:
  • black coffee
  • Ideal Protein Chocolate Drink (RTD)
I deviate once in a while, mostly on weekends.  But every weekday, I get up, make my Keurig Coffee (usually Starbucks House Blend), sit down on the couch, put on Canada AM, and drink my coffee and IP Chocolate Drink.

I have tried the Vanilla RTD, Mango Drink, Cappuccino drink, Chocolate pudding blended with ice cubes, Orange drink, and many others.  While I enjoy all of those, I revert back to the Chocolate Drink.

I took a break from IP this summer, and I craved that drink.  I love how it is thick and creamy, but not too thick.  I getting my chocolate fix.  I drink it to the last drop, everyday, squeezing the box while trying to get the last few drops with the straw.

When filling in my Ideal Protein order sheet every week, I always glance at the other breakfast items.  I think about whether or not I should try something different.  I wonder if I will get tired of the same exact thing everyday.  Then, I fill in the number 7 next to the Chocolate Drink!!

I love my morning routine.  It's ok that it's repetitive and not very exciting.  I love not making decisions at that time of day.  I love my Chocolate Drink!

LittleStar's Rating:

Review of the Zucchini Chips Recipe


Zucchini Chips Recipe


Slice the zucchini nearly paper thin
Use parchment paper on a cookie sheet
Use a sprayer for a very light spray of EVOO
Add salt and pepper

Bake at 170 for 1 hour, then turn them all over one by one... and bake another 50 mins (or more, check each 5 mins for crunchiness level)


I have tried this recipe twice.  I don't have a mandolin.  The first time, I used the attachment on my KitchenAid Blender to slice the zucchini.  It did slice quite thinly, but made quite a mess.  The second time, I sliced with a sharp nice, which made the slices quite a bit thicker.

I love the taste of these chips, but I have not been very successful in making them crispy.  They looked nice and golden brown, but were still a bit soggy.  And the slices that were thicker had to be put back into the oven, and cooked even longer.

I also didn't use parchment paper, but sprayed the cookie sheet.  Probably too much oil? 

I will ask for a mandolin and parchment paper for my birthday and see if that makes the difference.

Any tips on making them crispy??  If I can get them crispy, LittleStar's rating will go up!

LittleStar's Rating:

Tuesday, 20 August 2013

Review of the Golden Goddess Soup

Recipe for the Golden Goddess Soup


simmer with a bit of water:
  • 1/2 orange tomato
  • a few orange cauliflower florets
  • 2 yellow mini bell peppers
  • 2 orange mini bell peppers
  • a few slices yellow summer squash
  • a few slices orange zucchini
  • a few vidalia onion slices (optional, these are not caramelized so ok to simmer)
  • salt, pepper and a dash red pepper flakes!!!
simmer all for about 8-10 mins then puree into a golden soup!!


After having so much success with my flatbread, I needed something to dip m delicious breadsticks into.

Now, keep in mind that I do not really enjoy most hot liquid, including soup.  I also did not have most of the orange vegetables called for in the recipe (orange tomato, orange cauliflower, orange zucchini) so I used the 'regular' coloured ones.  I also did not use the summer squash, so added a bit more zucchini.

This soup is, without doubt, one of the best things I have ever eaten!  It is tasty, heart-warming, filling, just plain delicious!!  The colour came out as a beautiful orange, which made me want to eat it even more.  The soup is thick (I didn't know how much water to simmer the veggies in, so I kept it to just a little bit and added as I needed to).  This was a perfect soup to dip my breadsticks.

I have made it many times in the last few weeks, adding in vegetables that I have in my fridge, including roasted red peppers, cherry tomatoes, shopped up cloves of garlic, green peppers, different spices such as basil, oregano, curry powder, etc.  The colour and taste varies depending on the ingredients, but I have been very happy with all of these different combinations.

The best and most impressive part of this recipe is that my children also love it!  The first time, I made a batch the size of the bowl, and it was not enough with the kids trying it and wanting some!  Now, I make big batches that I can share wih the whole family, and put the leftovers into containers to bring to work.

 LittleStar's Rating: 

Review of the Zucchini Muffin Recipe


Zucchini Muffin Recipe

1 egg white
pinch salt
whisk egg whites till frothy but not peaked

add 1/2 tsp baking powder + any spices you want
add your Ideal Protein packet of choice
add 1 cup (from raw) lightly sautéed shredded zucchini 

Bake in muffin tins 350 F for 15-20 min. 
Make 3-4 regular-sized muffins


I've made these muffins many times.  I have tried them with different Ideal Protein packets, including milk chocolate and dark pudding, cappuccino drink, butterscotch pudding, and combinations of them when making double-batches.
All of the drink and pudding combinations result in wonderful muffins!  The texture is a bit different than a regular muffin (not as doughy), and varies depending on how long you bake them.    I find them moist and tasty.  They are very portable, which is really nice if you are travelling and need to get those veggies in.  I also like that I can grab almost any drink or pudding packet, and make some muffins!  I've even used the ready-to-eat chocolate pudding, which made them even more moist.
The yield is 3 fairly large muffins, or, like in the picture above, 6 mini-muffins.  I find this a large and satisfying quantity of food for one packet and 1 cup of vegetables.
I've also drizzled these in a bit of Walden Farms pancake syrup (like in the picture) to jazz them up a little bit more.

 LittleStar's Rating: 


Monday, 19 August 2013

Review of the Chocolate Orange Popsicle Recipe


Chocolate Orange Popsicle Recipe

Add one package of Ideal Protein milk chocolate pudding mix, on package of Ideal Protein orange drink, and approximately 10 oz of water to the shaker.  Shake well, then pour into popsicle molds.


I had visions of chocolate orange creamsicles.  I had thought of creamy pudding pops.  I had dreams of a Christmas time chocolate orange.  I had hopes of a cold, refreshing summer treat.  Unfortunately, these popsicles were none of these.
These popsicles left an aftertaste.  I could barely taste any orange.  They were not creamy.  They were tasteless.  They even sort of separated at the bottom.  I LOVE chocolate, but I did not love these popsicles.  The only positive thing is that they were still a refreshing treat on a hot sunny day.  And it made a lot of popsicles!
They weren't terrible.  They just weren't what I expected.  It's all about expectations, isn't it??
 LittleStar's Rating: 


Review of the Crispy Cereal Pancake

Crispy Cereal Pancake Recipe

Crunch up a packet of Ideal Protein crispy cereal (I used a rolling pin before opening the package).

In a small bowl, whisk 2 egg whites, 
add 1/4 tsp of vanilla
add 1/4 tsp of baking powder
add cinnamon to taste

Add cereal to egg mixture and mix well.

Add a bit of water to get it to pancake batter consistency.

Cook just as you would a regular pancake, with a bit of olive oil in the frying pan.

Drizzle with Walden Farms pancake syrup.


I couldn't believe how big and fluffy this pancake was.  And with the WF syrup, it tasted like the real thing.  This pancake was easy to make, and extremely satisfying.  It was airy, not heavy at all, and the size made it last a long time.  It looked better than the pancakes I made for the kids.  Definitely a winner, and a great use of the IP crispy cereal.  Best of all, it's unrestricted!  I will NOT be using the restricted pancake mix again.

LittleStar's Rating: 

Sunday, 18 August 2013

My Favorite Restricted IP Items

My favorite part of the Ideal Protein plan is the fact that I get to eat wonderful restricted items!  Whether I am craving chocolate, something tangy and crunchy, or something sweet, the restricted items help me with those cravings.

I haven't had very many of the bars, so my favorite are the wafers, soy puffs, and 'chips'.

In order, here are my favorites:

  1. Soy Puffs - Chocolate - these are delicious, tasty, can be eaten anywhere, and give me my chocolate fix.
  2. Strawberry Wafers - these are so light and crispy, a hint of chocolate, a hint of strawberry, all in these two BIG wafers.  These are a true treat!
  3. Southwest Cheese Curls - the bag is huge, the curls are spicy and crunchy, a perfect treat when others are having chips or popcorn.
  4. Soy Puffs - Peanut - these crunchy balls taste like peanut butter, and are fantastic mixed with the chocolate soy puffs:  Reese's Pieces!
  5. Orange Wafers - Similar to the strawberry wafers, these two large cookies are very sweet and satisfying.
  6. Ridges - White Cheddar - These 'chips' are nice when I am craving cheese.  They are crispy and tasty, however, my coach has mentioned that very few of her clients enjoy them.
  7. Soy Puffs - Apple Cinnamon - Not thinking that this is something that I would enjoy, I was convinced to try these.  They are amazing!  Sweet, yet the cinnamon adds a wonderful flavour.  The only negative is that the kids want to eat them all!
  8. Ridges - Sea Salt and Vinegar - These really remind me of salt and vinegar chips, without the grease!  They are nice and crunchy, but stick to my back teeth a bit.
  9. Dill Pickle Zippers - These were in my top 5 for the first few months, but then I started eating more pickles!  So I eat these occasionally, and prefer the other ridges.

So, what other restricted treats are not my favorites?  The soy nuts.  I have only tried them once or twice, but I found them small and not very satisfying.  I would much prefer having the zippers or ridges, given the choice.  I also tried the Vanilla Crispy Square once, and did not enjoy it.  I found it dry and flavourless.  Not a repeat for me.

I've also never tried the Ridges - BBQ, and I'm not sure why!  I will try them soon and let you know what I think.

Review of the Artisan Flatbread recipe


Artisan Flatbread Recipe


1 Ideal Protein Potato Puree

1 whole egg

1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp basil
1/4 tsp oregano
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 pinch cilantro
2 oz water
pam spray


  1. Preheat the oven to 350
  2. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl
  3. Spray a cookie sheet with Pam
  4. Pour mixture
  5. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until desired texture


I was a little leery about trying out this recipe.  I had tried the potato puree once before, very early on in my IP journey.  I made it per the package instructions, and found that it tasted very pasty, not like mashed potatoes at all.  But despite my reservations, I decided to try this recipe.
It was quite a simple recipe to follow.  The only modification that I made was to omit the cilantro.  I hate cilantro!
The flatbread came out of the oven smelling wonderful!  It looked like flatbread.  Definitely flat, but I wasn't really sure how flat to lay out the mixture on the cookie sheet.  I let it cool for a couple minutes (might have been less because I was really excited!) and cut it with a breadknife into strips.  I wanted to eat them as breadsticks with my soup.  My first bite was......Amazing!  The outside was crunchy and crust like, the inside was moist and tender.  The mixture of seasonings gave it that little bit of extra flavour that worked really well together.  I ate about half of it dipped into my veggie soup, and the other half plain.
This is definitely something that I will make again.  It is also very versatile, depending on how you cut it.  I could be used as a flatbread, as a burger bun, as breadsticks, as a sandwich bun.  A definite winner and an addition to my list of recipes to make again.
LittleStar's Rating: